​European football's governing body, UEFA reportedly changed the formation of their fans Team of the Year to accomodate ​Juventus superstar, Cristiano Ronaldo as per the ​Dailymail

UEFA had revealed the fan-voted XI on Wednesday which included the usual suspects, however questions were raised due to the formation used, as they went with a rarely used 4-2-4 instead of the regular 4-3-3 which has been the norm in five of the last six years, except in 2017 where a 4-4-2 was chosen.

It has now been revealed that the reason for the change in formation was to include Ronaldo after he came in fourth in the poll of the forwards category behind rival Lionel Messi, ​Liverpool's Sadio Mane and ​Bayern Munich's Robert Lewandowski.

The UEFA Chiefs were not impressed by the decision and hence came up with the 4-2-4 formation to accomodate Ronaldo by dropping a midfielder, with the unlucky man said to be ​Chelsea's, N'Golo Kante.

"The formation for this year's team of the year was chosen to reflect the votes of the fans in parallel with the players' achievements in UEFA competitions. As a result, there are five UEFA Champions League winners and four UEFA Nations League finalists (including one winner). The formation changes on a regular basis and this year is no exception," an UEFA Spokesperson said on the matter.

The UEFA Fans Team of the Year

GK: Alisson (Liverpool)

DF: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax/Juventus), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool), Andy Robertson (Liverpool)

MF: Frenkie de Jong (Ajax/Barcelona), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)

FW: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), Sadio Mane (Liverpool), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)