Lionel Messi

Cream of Europe: 5 Clubs With the Most Ballon d'Or Wins

Barcelona talisman, Lionel Messi created history recently when he won his sixth Ballon d'Or award, which is the most for any player. His recent honour saw his club overtake their rivals, Real Madrid in the award stakes.

Here, we take a look at five clubs with the most Ballon d'Or wins.

5. Bayern Munich - 5 Wins

German giants, Bayern Munich have seen three of their players named as the world's best on five ocassions, however, all those wins came in the 1970's and the 1980's. All of the winners from the Bavarians were German internationals with Franz Beckenbauer and Karl-Heinz Rummenigge winning it twice, while Gerd Muller claimed it once.


Franz Beckenbauer: 2 (1972,1976)

Karl-Heinz Rummenigge: 2 (1980,1981)

Gerd Muller: 1 (1970) 

4. AC Milan - 8 Wins

AC Milan dominated European football during the 1990's and early 2000's and during that time they saw six players win it, with the great striker, Marco Van Basten claiming the award three times.


Marco Van Basten: 3 (1988,1989,1992)

Gianni Rivera: 1 (1969) 

Ruud Gullit: 1 (1987)

George Weah: 1 (1995)

Andriy Shevchenko: 1 (2004) 

Kaka: 1 (2007)

3. Juventus - 8 Wins

The Italian giants, Juventus are one of the successful clubs in the world and it is seen by them having players who have won it eight times so far, with Michel Platini the standout performer, claiming the prestigious honour on three consecutive occasions.


Michel Platini: 3 (1983,1984,1985)

Omar Sívori: 1 (1961) 

Paolo Rossi: 1 (1982)

Roberto Baggio: 1 (1993)

Zinedine Zidane. 1 (1998)

Pavel Nedved: 1 (2003)

2. Real Madrid - 12 Wins

The most successful club in European history, Real Madrid have seen their players win it on 11 ocassions, with Cristiano Ronaldo netting it four times during his time at the Spanish capital, while Alfredo Di Stefano won the award twice.


Cristiano Ronaldo: 5 (2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017)

Alfredo Di Stefano: 2 (1957,1959)

Raymond Kopa: 1 (1958) 

Figo: 1 (2000)

Ronaldo: 1 (2002)

Fabio Cannavaro: 1 (2006)

Luka Modric: 1 (2018)

1. Barcelona - 12 Wins

Real Madrid's rivals, Barcelona overtook them on the list, thanks to their talisman, Lionel Messi who recently claimed his sixth Ballon d'Or award. The Catalan giants have had some great names play for them, with the likes of Johan Cruyff (twice) and Rivaldo too winning the award in the past.


Leo Messi: 6 (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019)

Johan Cruyff: 2 (1973,1974)

Luis Suarez: 1 (1960)

Hristo Stoichkov: 1 (1994)

Rivaldo: 1 (1999)

Ronaldinho: 1 (2005)