​A Sri Lankan journalist chose to elect neither of the three favourites for the ​Ballon d'Or this year as he excluded ​Lionel Messi, Virgil van Dijk and Cristiano Ronaldo totally from his top five picks for the gong.

The ​Ballon d'Or has been awarded by French magazine 'France Football' and it sees their editorial staff put together the initial 30-man shortlist.

After the 30-man shortlist, journalists from all over the globe vote for their top five and after a complete list of all journalists' votes came out, Sri Lankan journalist Hafiz Marikar from Daily News picked Liverpool right-back Trent Alexander-Arnold as his Ballon d'Or winner for 2019, with Arsenal striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang second and Antoine Griezmann completing his top three.

Robert Lewandowski was his fourth selection followed by Barcelona goalkeeper Marc-Andre Ter Stegen in fifth position.

NONE of the final three consisting of Messi, Ronaldo and Van Dijk made it to his list.

Furthermore, a Guatemalan journalist chose Alisson as his Ballon d'Or winner, followed by three more Liverpool players in his top five consisting of Mohamed Salah, Roberto Firmino and Sadio Mane. The only player he chose outside Liverpool was Barcelona midfielder Frenkie de Jong.

And as it is always expected, there was plenty of bias as the journalists from Netherlands, Portugal, Argentina and Egypt all put their respective nationality's players in the No.1 spot.

Despite the above, there were still quite a lot of sensible votes made which led to the final three of the Ballon d'Or.