Joel Matip,Virgil van Dijk

Predicting The Winners Of the 2018/19 Champions League Awards

The 2018/19 Champions League campaign was one filled with a number of surprises and a lot of individual performances. It would be near impossible to pick one, but UEFA have come out with a list of nominees for the four awards.

Here is a prediction of the winners of the 2018/19 Champions League awards.

4. Goalkeeper - Alisson Becker

Purely based on stats, Marc-Andre ter Stegen should take the award but taking into account Barcelona's semi-final second leg loss to Liverpool , and the subsequent clean sheet in the semi-final, it will more likely be Alisson Becker who will be the winner. 

Ter Stegen has conceded fewer goals and kept 6 clean sheets, the same as Alisson, but the Brazilian is likely to edge this one. 

3. Defenders - Virgil van Dijk

Despite the talent on show in the whole campaign and in the nominees, there is no chance anyone other than Virgil van Dijk will be winning the award for best defender. Despite the incredible seasons Matthijs De Ligt and Trent-Alexander Arnold have had, the Dutchman has been at the forefront of Liverpool's run to the title with both his leadership and defending skills. 

2. Midfielders - Christian Eriksen

Of the midfielders nominated for the award, Christian Eriksen had the more productive campaign. He scored two goals and provided four assists for Tottenham Hotspur in the 18/19 season, with neither Frenkie de Jong nor Jordan Henderson coming close to that. 

Eriksen helped the team reach the finals even if he ultimately could not help them win the trophy.

1. Forwards - Lionel Messi

All three forwards that have been nominated have had a number of goals and assists throughout the campaign. Sadio Mane had four goals and three assists whereas Cristiano Ronaldo scored six and assisted two. 

However, Barcelona's Lionel Messi eclipsed the pair, scoring 12 goals and providing three assists, and is nailed on to win the award. 

 Here is a prediction of the winners of the 2018/19 Champions League awards.