PARIS, FRANCE - DECEMBER 03:  Luka Modric of Croatia and Real Madrid wins the 2018 Ballon D'Or at Le Grand Palais on December 3, 2018 in Paris, France.  (Photo by Aurelien Meunier/Getty Images)

Ranked - 5 Clubs With the Most Ballon d'or Winners in History

Real Madrid and Croatia midfielder Luka Modric won the 2018 Ballon d'Or award breaking the decade long dominance of Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo. Here, we take a look at the five clubs with the most Ballon d'Or winners in history.

1. Real Madrid - 11

Real Madrid are the most successful club in European football history and have players who have won the Ballon d'Or on 11 occassions. The club won it the first time when Alfredo di Stefano won the award in 1957 and went on to win it again in 1959, while Raymond Kopa picked it up in 1958 also while playing for the Los Blancos.

They had to wait for another 41-years for one of their players to win the award, when Luis Figo won it in 2000 while Brazil legend Ronaldo was the next in 2002. Italian defender Fabio Cannavaro was the next to win it in 2006 and post which Cristiano Ronaldo has dominated the award list for them winning it on four occassions with them.

Modric added another honour to the list when he won the award this year.

2. Barcelona - 11

Barcelona rank alongside rivals Real Madrid in not only terms of stature but also in terms of players who have won Ballon d'Or awards. Spaniard Luis Enrique was the first player from the club to win the honour in 1960, post which the legendary Johan Cryuff won it for consecutive years in 1973 and 1974.

They had to wait another 20-years for their player to win the award and that happened in 1994 when Bulgarian striker Hristo Stoichkov won it while Rivaldo too netted the honour four years later in 1998.

Ronaldinho was the next Barcelona player to win the award, this time in 2005 and since then Lionel Messi has been the King, winning it five-times so far, all while representing the Catalan club.

3. Juventus - 8

Juventus are the biggest club in Italy and have seen their players win the Ballon d'Or on eight occassions. Italian Omar Sivori was the first to win it in 1961 followed by Paulo Rossi who won it after 21-years.

French legend Michel Platini won it for three consecutive seasons between 1983 and 1985 while Roberto Baggio netted it in 1993. Zinedine Zidane won it in 1998 while the last Juve player to be named the Best Player in the world was Pavel Nedved in 2003.

4. AC Milan - 8

The first player from AC Milan to win the award was Gianni Rivera in 1969, while Dutchman Ruud Gullit was the next to win it after 18-years in 1987. Dutch legend Marco van Basten won the award thrice in 1988, 1989 and 1992, while Liberian striker George Weah secured the award in 1995.

Ukrainian striker Andriy Shevchenko won it in 2004 while the last Milan player to win the award was Brazil legend Kaka in 2008.

5. Bayern Munich - 5

German giants Bayern Munich are fifth on the list with three players who have won it on five occassions, with icon Gerd Muller the first to win it in 1970. German legend Franz Beckenbauer was the second player to win it twice in 1972 and 1976 while striker Karl-Heinz Rummenigge was named the best in the world on two consecutive occassions in 1980 and 1981.