3 Things to Look Out for as Kerala Blasters Host FC Pune City in the ISL

Two of the bottom four sides in the Indian Super League table up till now, Kerala Blasters and FC Pune City will go head to head at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Kochi on Friday.

Here are the three things to watch out for in the clash between both these teams....

3. Must-win game for Kerala and Pune

Both Kerala and Pune have been miserable this season and they cannot afford to lose any more of their remaining games if they are to have any chance of survival in the league.

The Blasters are on seventh and Pune are on ninth in the table. David James' side have not won a game in their last nine matches whereas Pune City have won just one game out of their last 10 games which included a draw against their opponents tonight.

2. Return of Iain Hume to his former stomping ground

FC Pune City striker Iain Hume will be starting for his team when they take on Kerala Blasters in Kochi.

The Australian forward is still much loved by the famous Blasters fans, but he will be gunning to score against Kerala to help the Stallions attain revival in the league.

Pune fought hard but ended up losing in their last match against Bengaluru FC and will hope to claim a precious three points in order to win only their second game in 11 games this season.

1. Kerala have a dominating head-to-head record against the Stallions

Both these sides have met nine times in the Indian Super League up till now with Kerala Blasters winning five and drawing three games in their dominant displays against Pune.

Additionally, Kerala have scored 14 goals compared to nine netted by Pune in both these teams' head-to-head clashes.


KERALA BLASTERS FC: Dheeraj Singh (GK), Sandesh Jhingan (C), Anas Edathodika, Nemanja Lakic-Pesic, Cyril Kali, Zakeer Mundampara, Nikola Krcmarevic, Sahal Abdul Samad, Keziron Kizito, Halicharan Narzary, Matej Poplatnik

FC Pune City: Kamaljit Singh (GK), Ashutosh Mehta, Matt Mills, Martin Diaz, Lalchhuanmawia Fanai, Jonathan Vila, Adil Khan, Robin Singh, Ashique Kuruniyan, Marcelo Pereira, Iain Hume