​The Ballon d'Or is arguably the most prestigious individual trophy given out to the best player in the world, a trophy which has been dominated by Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo over the past decade.

The Argentinian has won five awards so far and the Portugese star has four to his name, with the duo dominating the awards so much that we have to go back to 2007 to find a different winner, when Brazilian star Kaka beat them to the award.

However, if certain reports are to go by then the award is set to be given to Ronaldo who will clinch his fifth such honour thereby going level with Messi.

 - When will the 2017 Ballon d'Or award take place?

This will be the 62nd edition of the awards and will be held on Thursday, the 7th of December with the ceremony taking place at 6:45 GMT which is 12:15 AM IST (Early Friday morning).

- Where will the 2017 Ballon d'Or award be held?

The award ceremony will be held in Paris with reports stating that it will be presented on the Eiffel Tower.

- Who will present the award?

Former Tottenham Hotspur and Newcastle United legend David Ginola will present the award.

- Where to watch the ceremony online?

French news outlet L’Equipe’s dedicated TV channel will be screening all the coverage. It will also be shown on the France Football website.

Ballon d'Or shortlist -

Neymar - Paris Saint-Germain

N'Golo Kante - Chelsea

Luka Modric - Real Madrid

Paulo Dybala - Juventus

Marcelo - Real Madrid

Edin Dzeko - Roma

Harry Kane - Tottenham

David De Gea - Manchester United

Robert Lewandowski - Bayern Munich

Kevin De Bruyne - Manchester City

Karim Benzema - Real Madrid

Pierre-Emerick Aubemyang - Borussia Dortmund

Edinson Cavani - Paris Saint-Germain

Philippe Coutinho - Liverpool

Luis Suarez - Barcelona

Jan Oblak - Atletico Madrid

Sergio Ramos - Real Madrid

Dries Mertens - Napoli

Radamel Falcao - Monaco

Sadio Mane - Liverpool

Gianluigi Buffon - Juventus

Antoine Griezmann - Atletico Madrid

Toni Kroos - Real Madrid

Cristiano Ronaldo - Real Madrid

Eden Hazard - Chelsea

Leonardo Bonucci - AC Milan

Isco - Real Madrid

Lionel Messi - Barcelona

Mats Hummels - Bayern Munich

Kylian Mbappe - Paris Saint-Germain

- Who is the favourite to win the Ballon d'Or?

Real Madrid and Portugese star Cristiano Ronaldo is the favourite to pick up the award after leading Portugal to the Euro 2016 title and the Los Blancos to the La Liga and UEFA Champions League titles. Messi in all probability will come in second while Paris Saint-Germain star Neymar will finish in the third.